The Ice Cream Cure

Vanilla ice cream typically isn’t what most moms feed their kid after he/she has spent the entire morning puking on various dry-clean-only fabrics, but that’s exactly what my good friend Liz did recently with her three-year-old daughter, Louisa, when they visited for the weekend. I immediately admonished Liz: “What kind of a mother are you?” (harsh, I know), and added a few “tsk-tsks” and raised eyebrows for good measure. (My husband and I don’t have kids yet, so of course I felt my irritating haughtiness was justified.)

After Louisa had licked the bowl clean, I anticipated her relapse by searching for towels, spit buckets, and Pedialyte (which I didn’t have). Liz confessed that she had caved to Louisa’s ice cream request to avoid a fit of mammoth proportions.

Guess what happened? Louisa’s stomach virus quickly subsided, she felt better, and didn’t throw up the rest of the weekend, much to my shock and Liz’s delight.

Luckily for me, Liz let it go. Luckily for Liz, I kept my mouth shut after that. Luckily for Louisa, we had more ice cream in the freezer.

Blisstree would love to hear your crazy/wacky/controversial cures for your kid’s minor ailments. Post your half-baked ideas here.

Leave a Reply

